All my eggs…

What I don’t know about food is my reason for being. What I do know keeps me coming home.

This journey into healthy living has been rewarding beyond my expectations. Renee helps with the focus and a new calorie counting app (calm down, it’s just until I have a good sense of what I’m putting away in a day) keeps me from bingeing away any progress I might make.

However, sometimes I’m at a loss for what to eat, whether it’s breakfast, dinner, or lunch. My imagination runs dry and I am forced to turn to the ‘never let me down’ drawer in my brain and it invariably spits out something with eggs in it. White, brown, not quite round, eggs you keep me from starving!

Eggs are a tough one for Renee. If she sees a glistening egg white she’ll throw in the towel and uncooked yolk could be grounds for a swift exit from the room. She is brave enough to try it though and a few minutes extra in the pan won’t hurt an egg’s feelings.

This is a good compromise and a healthy source of protein.

1. Cube 2 potatoes and blanch them in boiling water. When they are just beginning soften drain them and rinse them with cold water and set aside.

2. Chop 1 Cup of mushrooms
Trim a head of broccoli
Mince a clove of garlic…
…and add it to a saucepan with some butter or margarine (enough to keep things moving-you’re a grown up)

If you have anything else knocking around the fridge that looks like it might add something, toss it in. I like to use whatever fresh herbs that aren’t rotting away quietly in the crisper. SautĂ© the whole mess until it looks like you want it to. Add the veggies to a high heat pie plate, add the potatoes and set the oven for about 350 degrees. Meanwhile in another bowl…

3. Whisk six eggs while maniacally shouting out the first 14 digits of Pi and then up-end the bowl over your potato and veggie mixture.

4. When the oven is ready slide it in and wait until the eggs are cooked firm and have lost that smug look you so despise (maybe twenty minutes?) Remember that cooking is supposed to be therapeutic.

This one isn’t rocket science. The eggs have good protein, the veggies are…well, veggies and a good sized portion will only add up about 230 Calories!

I have a penchant for brown sauce (a hold over from my carnivore days) and it works wonderfully with a frittata, as I call this mish-mash of eggs, potatoes and vegetables. Look it up if you don’t believe me and then sit down and eat. There will be enough for leftovers.

20120118-162744.jpg

~ by themourningkitchen on January 18, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
